Good King Cameron looked out

Good King Cameron looked out
On the feast of Stephen
When cocaine lay round about
Deep and crisp and even.
All the way from Ecuador
Colombia and Peru
Some by boat and some by plane
And some by hapless mule.

“Hither, May, and stand by me
If thou know’st it, telling
Yonder peasant, who is she?
Where and what her dwelling?”
“Sire, she lives many leagues hence
In a poor favela
Trying hard to make some pence
A dupe not a drug seller.

“Bring me flesh and bring me wine
Bring me brandy hither
Thou and I will wine and dine
While she’s at HM’s pleasure.”
May and David forth they went
Past the cold and homeless
Cruel in deed with dark intent
Leaving many hopeless.

“Dave, the pressure’s greater now
The mood for change grows stronger
Fails my heart, I know not how,
I can go no longer.”
“Mark my footsteps, my good May,
Tread thou in them boldly,
Let not the facts block your way
Look upon them coldly.

In her master’s steps she trod
Where the truth lay deepest
He really was an awful sod
Weak of mind the feeblest.
Prohibitionists you will
Find your stance a burden
Ye who now ignore the ill
Shall yourselves be stricken.

About tomclloyd

International Drug Policy Adviser and former UK Chief Constable
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

